CAVE OF FORGOTTEN DREAMS

I just saw Werner Herzog’s new film Cave of Forgotten Dreams. If you haven’t seen it- SEE IT!

It was beautiful; moving. I actually fogged up my 3D glasses with tears…

Besides Werner’s ability to move you via his storytelling, I was moved by the humanity- by humankind itself. It’s not often that I find myself marveling at the beauty of humanity, but that film didn’t just tell the story of cave paintings, it stripped human kind down to its purest form.

While watching the film I felt like humanity’s true purpose was revealed: CREATION.

We’ve been doing it since the beginning of time. Creating- telling stories, listening to music, and shaping the world around us. Communicating with those we’ll never see. Leaving a bridge to the past for future generations. These cave people weren’t working themselves to death, trying to make money, or coveting trivial things. They were exploring, learning and creating. That’s what separates us from “lower” lifeforms. The ability to create IS humanity.

So go out into the world and CREATE something.  Imagine the world that you want to see around you; shape it to your liking. It is our responsibility and our privilege as humans to do so.

So happy movie watching and happy creating everyone!

http://movies.nytimes.com/movie/463722/Cave-of-Forgotten-Dreams/overview

About Exploding Noise

I'm just "a fucked-up girl, looking for her own peace of mind". Ha! That's from my favorite movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Ummm...about me....let's see.... the sentence above pretty much sums it up, but I guess really I only want one thing: to live a creative life that's full of love and peace. That's all. This blog is a platform to catalog my epiphanies, ponder my failures and celebrate my triumphs as I pursue my ideal life.

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

